top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemmerickel9

Keeping it light tonight ...


What I choose to share tonight makes me smile, and I find it slightly humorous. I have had wild ducks visiting my backyard. I was out gardening the other day, and I heard a "splash". Imagine my surprise (and delight) to find two wild ducks in my pool. We are on the fourth consecutive day where at least one wild duck has visited our home. I am use to humming birds, blue jays, doves, chick-a-dees and several other little birds (that I have not identified yet) visiting my backyard. I have even had Cooper hawks land on my fence. Once a crow was investigating one of my raised garden beds. I currently know of two wild bird nests on my property with eggs and young chicks in them.


As you can imagine, I love all of this because ... (wait for it) ... I like birds.


The humorous part to me is that their is no ordinance regarding wild birds entering your backyard. So, I get to enjoy the ducks.


Keep writing your editorials and emailing your Council Member in support of backyard hens.

Ward 3 (Weir), Ward 5 (Freeman), Ward 6 (Gray) and Ward 7 (Parlier) are all anti-hens.


Reach out to me if you want to get more involved with our efforts to work respectfully with the city to amend the current ordinance to allow for a small number of backyard hens in residential zones. Our backyard hen community continues to grow, and you are welcome to join.


I have to go now and check on the wild ducks.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update: Tonight's City Council Meeting

Just finished speaking at today's 5:15 PM city council meeting in support of backyard hens. Making a public statement is easy. You fill out the card in the lobby and hand it to the city clerk. (She is

May Our List Grow

Go to Bakersfield.com and in the search box near the top right corner type “backyard hens”. You will find the submitted and published “Letters to the Editor”, “Community Voices” and Bakersfield Califo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page